Button Rings


I know some of you have been wondering where the heck I have been the last week or so. I’ve been so completely swamped with family and work and life! We’ve been just busy with soccer and parent/teacher conferences, etc.  I’m so sorry it has been so long between posts.  No worries though… I have ideas running constant in my brain.  Crafting, decorating, baking, and shopping is what keeps me going. It’s my life!

I saw this idea for making rings out of Antique buttons… they were so cute! But I don’t have any antique buttons. So I have been looking for buttons everywhere I go. I go to antique stores often, but haven’t found good buttons yet. I’m still hunting!

When I started looking for buttons, I found that there are so many things you can use to make rings. My little sister made a bunch of rings out of old necklace pendants she didn’t use anymore. They made super cute rings!

For this project you will need:

  • Buttons ( fabric stores! )
  • Ring Base ( I found them at Michaels, Hobby Lobby and Joann’s.  My favorite were at wide band from Joann’s.  Michaels were least desirable. )
  • Jewelry Glue ( jewelry section at your craft store )
  • Wire Cutters
  • Metal File (can be found at local hardware store )
You will find more button selection at fabric stores.  I found a bunch at Joann’s.  Don’t forget to take your coupon with you as buttons can be a little more $$ than you would think sometimes.  You can print coupons off their website.  I pull them up on my iphone and just show the cashier.
Make sure to look at the back of the button to make sure it has a surface that will work for a ring.  I bought a couple that were domed on the back and don’t work.
I would recommend taking your rings off when you wash your hands or get your hands wet, as it will preserve the metal longer. I hope you have as much fun as I have!   I would love to see what you come up with.  Go to my facebook (showmecute) page and post your photos!
Jenny
6 thoughts on “Button Rings

  1. For the domed ones, could you maybe glue heavy cardboard to them and then stick them on the ring, I wonder? I DEFINITELY plan to try this project. I love your Youtube channel so, so much. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

